BT Fibre Broadband

• johnny_UK
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
10 Mar 2011 13:43 #66746 by johnny_UK
BT Fibre Broadband was created by johnny_UK
Hi
Will the Draytek 2820N support it? Please read info below...... I'm not too technical minded as you may have gathered

Will I need a new modem/router?

Your existing ADSL or ADSL2+ router will not work with Fibre Broadband due to the new technology, so you will require a standard (non-ADSL) router (also known to as a 'Cable router') which you can then plug the provided VDSL2 modem into and share the connection on your network.

If you only have a single machine that will be using a wired connection, you can simply just plug the provided VDSL2 modem in to the ethernet port on your machine and then setup a basic PPPoE connection via the Windows Control Panel or MAC System Preferences menu, or any operating system that can set up a PPPoE connection.

Correspondence..........

John

Checking the web, it seems that the modem can either be used on a BT or a cable based connection; the latter being important as the modem that BT installed for the FTTC (Fibre To The Cabinet) service is a pure modem translating the VDSL signal to Ethernet connection; this doesn't manage a login at all, so you'd need a device that does a pure PPPoE (not PPPoE over ATM like an ADSL modem) connection. If the draytek 2820n truly does this then there should be no problems using this.

Regards,

Creator: webenquiry
Date: Wed 9th Mar 11, 22:10

Do you know if the Draytek 2820n does this?

Creator: adsl24
Date: Thu 10th Mar 11, 09:23
John

Sorry - what I was trying to say was that the internet searches I've done indicate that the modem should manage this, but I cannot guarantee this.

Regards,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Mar 2011 13:56 #66747 by voodle
Replied by voodle on topic Re: BT Fibre Broadband