• Topic Author
More
19 Sep 2013 08:18 #77721 by basmistry
Active Directory setup was created by basmistry
I'm trying to setup AD integration with 2830 Router - unsuccessfully so far

The FAQ docs have very limited info

This is a new install with simple AD - just 1 user plus administrator
no groups so far...

What do I put in for AD settings - I'm a bit new to AD ?

Appreciate any help / pointers - step by step would be great !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Sep 2013 18:31 #77781 by iamq-yesiam
Replied by iamq-yesiam on topic Re: Active Directory setup
Have a look for LDAP Explorer on google and check you can view your AD schema/users from a PC.

Most AD problems I've seen are to do with anonymous binding by the device to the AD server and it can't read out the user details or gets an error which it can't display.

I've not done any integration with a Draytek & an AD system as yet... Sorry

More
02 Nov 2013 13:17 #78108 by mxw
Replied by mxw on topic Re: Active Directory setup
Hi,

This the benefit of those who are unaware on how this works, I will explain roughly how it was described to me. Please do not mistake this for fact, its just an outline and should be treated as such. My intention is to get people working and then allow them to tweek and tighten security as they go along and learn more.

I will only explain the AD aspect for now in relation to VPN.

So firstly some prep work is needed on your AD. For the sake of ease locate the default administrator account on your domain and copy this account, I named mine draytek. Once created we then want to find out its DN (distinguished name) this can be found by opening cmd and doing the below:

dsquery user -name draytek*

This outputs: "CN=Draytek,OU=Administrators,OU=Home,DC=mydomain,DC=local"