DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

2820 UDP NAT problem with long term 'sessions'

More
06 Feb 2011 13:41 #66113 by jedi98
(yes I know that UDP is connectionless, I am referring to the NAT table entry as a 'session')

This is an odd problem I have been tracking for a few months, so I thought I would see if anyone has any ideas on it.

Scenarios are: -
  • 1. Asterisk VOIP server (SIP over UDP) -->
Vigor 2820(n) --> net --> VOIP provider.
2. Asterisk VOIP server (IAX2 over UDP) --> Vigor 2820(n) --> net --> Vigor 2800 --> Asterisk VOIP server.
Problem is that after some time (one or more days) the UDP VOIP 'sessions' to a given remote service, SIP or IAX2 will stop working and NOTHING short of rebooting the router will make them work again. Once this happens I can see the packets leave the server on the LAN, but there is no response back.

When it IS working I see a NAT table entry as expected. When it's NOT working there is no NAT table entry and I think this is the nub of the matter. For some reason the NAT table is no longer storing an entry for the given session so no packets can get back. It acts like ther is an internal entry in the router saying that the NAT table entry is there but the actual enry has got deleted. The 2800 router at the other site (2 above) does not seem to have the same issue.

The firmware is 3.3.4.1 and the problem was also present on 3.3.4. It does appear that some SIP services 'aggravate' the problem and I am uncertain why that would be.

If anyone has any good ideas for tracking this increasingly annoying issue down then it would be helpful. I have a high level of technical knowledge so I can packet trace all sorts of stuff or log pretty well whatever is needed.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Feb 2011 07:06 #66138 by dannyboy1121
Replied by dannyboy1121 on topic 2820 UDP NAT problem with long term 'sessions'