DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Sky MER situation - has anyone managed to get DHCP address?

• briain
  • Topic Author
More
18 Jan 2012 12:40 #70821 by briain
Hi Folks

I'm getting a little concerned about Sky's migration from PPPoA to MER (and whether the PPPoA option will eventually be disabled). I've been using my Draytek 2820Vn with Sky (PPPoA) for several years and everything is fine at the moment, but I am getting concerned that one day I'll wake up to find I have no ADSL connection. I've just been having a search to see if anyone has resolved this, but there is surprisingly little on the www about it (and no proper solutions). Below are some comments posts I found on the skyusers forum and Billion forums. It would seem that you can make it work by specifying the ISP allocated IP address, but as these are dynamically allocated addresses, these are not exactly great solutions. Has anyone any thoughts on how we can make this work as it should do (or on why the DHCP option is not obtaining the ISP assigned address)?

Incidentally, I have tried connecting as MPoA and it does show the ADSL status at 'showtime', so it looks like it works, but it just isn't getting the DHCP information from the ISP.

Skyuser post ( here ) relating to a Draytek 2830:

Disable PPPoE/PPPoA and Enable MPoA (RFC1483/2684)
Encapsulation: 1483 Bridged IP VC-Mux
VPI 0
VCI 40
Specify an IP address : Enter your IP and GW from your Sky router here
MAC Address: Again, take this from your Sky router
DNS: Enter the Sky ones ( 90.207.238.97 and 90.207.238.99 in my case )

Billion post ( here ):

If anyone is with Sky Broadband and your router has upgraded to the 2.04 firmware, which enabled MER connection, try the following in your Billion or other 3rd party router.