DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

2820 WAN 1 Down notification

More
12 Apr 2012 15:27 #71861 by micklep
2820 WAN 1 Down notification was created by micklep
Hi,

I am new to drayek products but i'm not a big fan, I have successfully configured the 2820 to load balance two wan connections (One through ADSL, the other through the Ethernet on WAN 2 via ADSL modem).

The problem is as follows, we can send email through both Fixed IP addresses but can only recieve through one (forwarded on by mail defender)

If the main line goes down (Wan 1), i would need to be notified so i can get Mail Defender to forward our mail onto the other IP. I am aware that this is an option when you set a failover broadband line but cannot find any work around for a load balancing set up.

Any help is greatly Appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Apr 2012 16:26 #71864 by nealuk
Replied by nealuk on topic Re: 2820 WAN 1 Down notification
Some mail processing services allow you to specify in their control panel destination delivery addresses.
You'd need to add the second one in here. In the Mail Defender Control Panel since

micklep wrote: ...I am aware that this is an option when you set a failover broadband line but cannot find any work around...

I don't think your understaning is correct.

I have had this working a treat with Postini, but a more elderly service, such as Nildram Email Scan was only designed for one destination IP delivery address, so in times of outages had to be updated manually in their control panel.

Regards, Neal

More
16 Apr 2012 09:15 #71900 by micklep
Replied by micklep on topic Re: 2820 WAN 1 Down notification

nealuk wrote: Some mail processing services allow you to specify in their control panel destination delivery addresses.
You'd need to add the second one in here.

Hi Neal,