DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

2930 Static IP - reports Gateway IP is invalid when it's not

• daveturnbull
  • Topic Author
More
01 Aug 2012 10:19 #73122 by daveturnbull
I have a Vigor2930 router which I have been using for approx 2 yrs. It's come time to change to a new ISP, which of course means some new settings.

I have a static IP which I am setting up on WAN2 (for a seamless switchover) however the router seems to think my gateway IP is invalid. I know the details I have work fine as I have setup an old XP box with them and plugged it straight into the link.

This shows the settings I am inputting.

This shows what happens after I click 'OK'.

My guess is that there is a bug in the router firmware which means my gateway IP fails the validation check. I am using firmware version 3.3.0 which I believe is the latest.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Aug 2012 11:16 #73125 by nealuk
Hello, if you leave it as DHCP do you still get issued with an IP - and if so are these details what you are expecting?

Firmware 3.3.1 has been out for a few month now. If you wish to change, I suggest you have a record of all setting in your 2930, change firmware using the .rst file, and reconfigure from scratch. ftp://ftp.draytek.com/Vigor2930/Firmware/v3.3.1/

Regards,

Neal.

• daveturnbull
  • Topic Author
More
01 Aug 2012 11:27 #73126 by daveturnbull
My ISP doesn't offer a DHCP option so I need to be able to specify the settings.

I'll try the firmware update and see how I get on. Is there anyone out there who has a similar router and can try putting in the details from my screenshot to see if they have the same problem when saving?

More
01 Aug 2012 19:07 #73134 by babis3g
try this
right box click obtain ip automatic
That how i have it with my static ip at wan 2 @ 2920 which is the same menus

If you click static ip (of course it works as well) you need to add mask and ip address