DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

2850Vn Infinity, connection loss.

• rickblackdog
  • Topic Author
More
24 Oct 2012 17:35 #73921 by rickblackdog
2850Vn Infinity, connection loss. was created by rickblackdog
Hi, hope you can help. I've been running the 2850Vn on BT infinity for about a two months now and have not been able to maintain a reliable connection. I have sporadic loss of connection 2-3 times per day, the only solution is to reboot the router.

I'm running a separate DNS & DHCP server (it's also a mail & file server). I could not get the 2850Vn to work as VDSL (followed the guide to the letter), just through the openreach modem and PPPoE - this was the same on two separate client sites. Just flashing VDSL light and no connection. Anyone had any success with VDSL? If so...how? Anyone else had loss of connection issues and could point me with some solutions?

Thanks in advance!

Rick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Oct 2012 17:42 #73954 by e.s
Replied by e.s on topic Re: 2850Vn Infinity, connection loss.
I had mine working via vdsl, it was a pain to setup but I got it to work.

If you still need help let me know and I will post my settings for ya.

More
29 Oct 2012 18:37 #73956 by ollietait
Replied by ollietait on topic Re: 2850Vn Infinity, connection loss.
@ e.s yes please!

More
29 Oct 2012 21:17 #73957 by e.s
Ok, I shall start from the phone socket.

RJ11 phone wire connected to the phone socket and then connected to the vdsl/adsl socket on the front of the 2850vn.

Then connect an ethernet cable to GigaLAN1 and connect it to the ethernet port on the back of your pc.

That gets the wire connections out of the way :)

Anyway, open your browser and type 192.168.1.1 and then admin/admin for user and pass, if you have changed the password then use yours instead.

WAN